Sector

Sovereigns

Type

Analytical commentary

On February 8, 2021, Rosstat published operational data on the natural movement of the population of Russia for January to December 2020. A total of 2.125 mln people died in 2020, which is 360,000 more than the number that would have died in the absence of the coronavirus pandemic1 (0.25% of the population; Fig. 1, left graph). Excess mortality, part of the population’s temporary inability to work and migration restrictions are important factors, which determine the future economic activity of the country.

According to ACRA’s assessments, the demographic effects of the pandemic will shrink real GDP in 2021 by 0.2–0.9%2. However, these are mostly short-term phenomena. In 2021, the demographic effects may not be very visible due to the presence of more powerful effects of a different nature. The demographic footprint of the pandemic will decline to 0.04–0.18% by 2030 (see the stages and assessment parameters in Table 1), but continue to have an effect even 15 years after the pandemic ends (Fig. 1, right graph).


The estimate of the number of deaths in the scenario without a pandemic was made using a mortality model that assumes linear dynamics of mortality rates in each one-year age and sex group of the population. The rate of change in the ratios in the groups was estimated based on data from 2015–2019. In most groups, the ratio tends to decline over time, so the expected number of deaths in 2020 is less than the number of deaths in 2019.
We view the difference in real GDP levels and not the difference in its growth rates as the effect.

Figure 1. Excess mortality in 2020–2021 and its long-term impact on the labor force

Sources: Rosstat, ACRA

The assessment of demographic effects in 2021 includes:

  • Estimate of the number of working age people excluded from the labor force as a result of deaths directly or indirectly related to the pandemic by mid-2021;
  • Estimate of the annual average number of people who are temporarily unable to work;
  • Estimate of the number of working age migrants who either did not travel to Russia or left the country in 2020 and the first half of 2021.

In the short term, the demographic effects of the pandemic are rather significant, but at the same time are almost invisible against the backdrop of even more powerful processes, such as the introduction of anti-pandemic measures and their subsequent easing, the dynamics of the OPEC+ deal, and unemployment dynamics (the signs of influence are different).

In the long term, the assessment of demographic effects is based on predicting the deviation of the labor force in a given year from the hypothetical labor force in the non-pandemic scenario. Differences arise mainly due to the deaths of working age people in 2020–2021 (on the assumption that excess mortality from the pandemic will be close to zero in 2022 and beyond). In the absence of the pandemic, many of them would not have dropped out of the workforce until they reached retirement or an even older age. Consequently, the effect of the pandemic remains non-zero at least until the moment when the youngest among the dead would have dropped out of the workforce under normal conditions. Due to the current lack of complete data on the ages of people in the group of working age excess deaths, we have to use fragmentary data available for individual regions. Assuming that more than 85% of those who died were 45 years of age or older, the demographic effects of the pandemic should largely flatten out 20 years after it ends.

The temporary decline in fertility due to the pandemic was not factored into the calculation of long-term effects because there is likely to be a delayed surge when the pandemic ends.

Table 1. Estimation components of the pandemic’s demographic effects on GDP for 2021 and 2030*

 

Estimation component

Min

Max

Notes

General data

Excess deaths in April-December 2020, mln people

0.36

0.36

Fig.1

Excess deaths in January-June 2021, mln people

0.10

0.17

Based on the assumed disability trend in 2021

Excess deaths in July-December 2021, mln people

0.00

0.08

Share of excess deaths for employable

25%

45%

No statistics are available yet, ACRA’s estimate is based on sample data

Labor force in 2019, mln people

75.4

Labor force expected in 2030, mln people (non-pandemic scenario)

77.7

ACRA’s macroeconomic outlook of early 2020 (pension reform effects are taken into account) 

Employment elasticity to real GDP

0.7

1

A parameter of the production function model, confidence interval is based on the data for 1996–2019

2021

Annual average of temporary disabled in 2020 (after the start of the pandemic), mln people

0.27

0.40

ACRA’s estimates based on active cases

Annual average of temporary disabled in 2021, mln people

0.07

0.28

Assumed average number of cases in 2021

Net outflow of labor immigrants aggregated for 2020–2021, mln people

0.00

0.15

No statistics are available yet, ACRA’s estimate is based on fragmentary data

Share of labor force dropped out for short time in 2021

0.10%

0.57%

-

Excess deaths for employable in April 2020 – June 2021, mln people

0.12

0.24

-

Share of labor force dropped out for long time in 2021

0.16%

0.32%

-

Pandemic’s effect on real GDP in 2021, pps

0.17

0.89

-

2030

Excess deaths for employable in 2020–2021, mln people

0.12

0.28

-

Difference in labor force in 2030 (pandemic scenario vs non- pandemic scenario), mln people

0.05

0.14

Estimates are based on the demographic model with the assumed age of deaths caused by the pandemic, Fig. 1

Relative difference

0.06%

0.18%

-

Pandemic’s long-term effect on real GDP (labor force only), pps

0.04

0.18

-

* For most indicators, the minimum and maximum estimates are shown, since many parameters are not observable, not published yet or forecasted with significant uncertainty.
Source: ACRA

In theory, longer-term macroeconomic consequences, directly or indirectly related to demographics, are also possible. In the long term, the purely demographic effects will be supplemented by the effects associated with a decrease in the quality of human capital during the pandemic, as healthcare resources were retargeted to fight the pandemic in 2020, some regular healthcare services were suspended, and online learning was likely less effective than traditional classroom education. This and other possible long-term side effects of the pandemic will collectively put pressure on labor productivity, but their impact on the economic activity and additional fiscal spending has yet to be estimated.

For more details on long-term economic growth factors in Russia, see ACRA’s macroeconomic outlook Structural and temporary factors of economic growth in Russia dated November 19, 2020.

Print version
Download PDF

Analysts

Dmitry Kulikov
Director, Sovereign Ratings and Macroeconomic Analysis Group
+7 (495) 139 04 80, доб. 122
We protect the personal data of users and process cookies only to personalize services. You can prevent the processing of cookies in your browser settings. Please read the terms of use of cookies on this website by clicking on more information.

Демографические последствия пандемии в России имеют макроэкономический масштаб

Интерпретация оперативной экономической статистики

8 февраля 2021 года Росстат опубликовал оперативные данные по естественному движению населения России за январь–декабрь 2020 года. Всего в 2020 году в России умерли 2,125 млн человек, что на 360 тысяч больше, чем было бы в отсутствие пандемии коронавируса1 (0,25% населения; см. рис. 1, левый график). Избыточная смертность в 2020–2021 годах, наряду с временной нетрудоспособностью части населения, а также миграционными ограничениями, — важные факторы, определяющие будущую экономическую активность в стране.

Согласно оценкам АКРА, демографические эффекты пандемии снижают реальный ВВП 2021 года на 0,2–0,9%2, однако они по большей части краткосрочны. В 2021 году демографические эффекты могут быть не очень заметны ввиду наличия более мощных эффектов другой природы. К 2030 году демографический след пандемии снизится до 0,04–0,18% (см. этапы и параметры оценки в табл. 1), но не сойдет на нет и через 15 лет после ее окончания (см. рис. 1, правый график).


1 Оценка численности умерших в сценарии без пандемии произведена с помощью модели смертности, предполагающей линейную динамику коэффициентов смертности в каждой однолетней половозрастной группе населения. Скорость изменения коэффициентов в группах была оценена на основе данных 2015–2019 годов. В большинстве групп коэффициент со временем, как правило, снижается, поэтому ожидаемое число смертей в 2020 году меньше, чем число смертей в 2019–м.
2 Эффектом мы считаем разницу в уровнях реального ВВП, а не разницу в темпах его роста.

Рисунок 1. Избыточная смертность 2020–2021 годов и долгосрочный эффект на численность рабочей силы

Источник: Росстат, расчеты АКРА

Оценка демографических эффектов в 2021 году включает в себя:

o   оценку численности людей трудоспособных возрастов, выпавших из состава рабочей силы в результате смерти, прямо или косвенно связанной с пандемией, к середине 2021 года;

o   оценку среднегодовой численности временно нетрудоспособных людей;

o   оценку численности трудоспособных мигрантов, не приехавших или уехавших в течение 2020 года и первой половины 2021–го.

В краткосрочном периоде демографические эффекты пандемии достаточно велики, но фактически почти незаметны на фоне еще более мощных процессов, таких как введение противопандемийных мер и их последующее смягчение, динамика сделки ОПЕК+ и динамика безработицы (знаки влияния различны).

В долгосрочном периоде оценка демографических эффектов пандемии будет основываться на прогнозе отклонения численности рабочей силы в заданном году от гипотетической численности рабочей силы в сценарии без пандемии. Разница возникает в основном в результате смерти людей в трудоспособных возрастах в 2020–2021 годах (исходим из предположения о том, что в 2022 году и далее избыточная смертность от пандемии окажется близкой к нулю). В отсутствие пандемии многие из них не выбыли бы из состава рабочей силы до наступления пенсионного или даже более высокого возраста. Соответственно, эффект пандемии остается ненулевым как минимум до того момента, когда самый молодой среди умерших людей выпал бы из состава рабочей силы в нормальных условиях. Ввиду отсутствия полных данных о возрастах «избыточно умерших» трудоспособных людей на данный момент мы вынуждены использовать обрывочные сведения, доступные по отдельным регионам. Если считать, что более 85% таковых были в возрасте 45 лет и старше, демографические эффекты пандемии должны в основном сгладиться через 20 лет после ее окончания.

Временное снижение рождаемости в связи с пандемией не было учтено при расчете долгосрочных эффектов, так как по окончании пандемии, вероятно, будет наблюдаться отложенный всплеск.

Таблица 1. Компоненты оценки демографических последствий пандемии для ВВП 2021 и 2030 годов*

 

Элементы оценки

Мин.

Макс.

Примечания

Общая информация

Избыточная смертность за апрель–декабрь 2020 года, млн человек

0,36

0,36

См. рис .1

Избыточная смертность за январь–июнь 2021 года, млн человек

0,10

0,17

Расчет на основе предположений
о динамике числа болеющих в 2021 году

Избыточная смертность за июль–декабрь 2021 года, млн человек

0,00

0,08

Доля избыточно умерших людей, находившихся
в трудоспособных возрастах

25%

45%

Статистика пока недоступна, оценка АКРА основана на выборочных сведениях

Численность рабочей силы в 2019 году, млн человек

75,4

Ожидаемая численность рабочей силы в 2030 году, млн человек (сценарий без пандемии)

77,7

Макропрогноз АКРА от начала 2020 года (учтен эффект пенсионной реформы) 

Эластичность реального ВВП по активной рабочей силе

0,7

1

Параметр модели производственной функции, приведен доверительный интервал его оценки на основе данных
1996–2019 годов

2021

Среднегодовое число временно нетрудоспособных в 2020 году (после начала пандемии), млн человек

0,27

0,40

Оценка АКРА на основе данных о динамике числа активных случаев болезни

Среднегодовое число временно нетрудоспособных в 2021 году, млн человек

0,07

0,28

Предположение о динамике среднего числа болеющих в 2021 году

Нетто-отток мигрантов в трудоспособных возрастах, накопленный за 2020–2021 годы, млн человек

0,00

0,15

Статистика пока недоступна, оценка АКРА основана на выборочных сведениях

Краткосрочно выпавшая в 2021 году доля рабочей силы

0,10%

0,57%

-

Избыточная смертность в трудоспособных возрастах за период с апреля 2020 года по июнь 2021–го, млн человек

0,12

0,24

-

Долгосрочно выпавшая в 2021 году доля рабочей силы

0,16%

0,32%

-

Эффект пандемии на уровень реального ВВП 2021 года, п. п.

0,17

0,89

-

2030

Число избыточно умерших в трудоспособном возрасте
за 2020–2021 годы, млн человек

0,12

0,28

-

Разница в численности рабочей силы в 2030 году (сценарий с пандемией vs. сценарий без пандемии), млн человек

0,05

0,14

Расчет на основе демографической модели
с использованием предположения
о возрасте умерших от пандемии, см. рис. 1

относительная разница

0,06%

0,18%

-

Долгосрочный эффект пандемии на уровень реального ВВП (только численность трудовых ресурсов), п. п.

0,04

0,18

-

* Для большинства индикаторов приведены минимальная и максимальная оценки, так как многие параметры ненаблюдаемы, пока не публиковались или являются прогнозными со значительной степенью неопределенности.
Источник: расчеты АКРА

Теоретически возможны и более длительные макроэкономические последствия, которые не обязательно будут напрямую связаны с демографией. В долгосрочном периоде к чисто демографическим добавятся эффекты, связанные со снижением качества человеческого капитала за время пандемии: вследствие перенаправления ресурсов здравоохранения на борьбу с пандемией в 2020 году предоставление части регулярных услуг было приостановлено, а удаленный режим обучения, на который была переведена система образования, вероятно, был менее эффективным по сравнению с очным. Это и возможные долгосрочные побочные эффекты самой болезни в совокупности будут оказывать давление на производительность труда, однако их влияние на экономическую активность и дополнительные бюджетные расходы еще предстоит оценить.

Подробнее о факторах долгосрочного экономического роста в России см. макроэкономический прогноз АКРА от 19 ноября 2020 года «Структурные и конъюнктурные факторы экономического роста в России».

Вход

Забыли пароль

Регистрация

Восстановление пароля

Восстановление пароля

Termsofuse

Полное использование материалов сайта разрешается только с письменного согласия правообладателя, АКРА (АО). Частичное использование материалов сайта (не более 30% текста статьи) разрешается только при условии указания гиперссылки на непосредственный адрес материала на сайте www.acra-ratings.ru . Гиперссылка должна быть размещена в подзаголовке или в первом абзаце материала. Размер шрифта гиперссылки не должен быть меньше шрифта текста используемого материала.